The way Moravian Church in Tanzania operate

On November 23, 1986 the Moravian Church in Tanzania was officially inaugurated and in April, 1987 it was registered by the government. The MCT was formally recognized by the Unity Synod of the Unitas Fratrum at its meeting in Antigua, West Indies in 1988.

The need to establish the Moravian Church in Tanzania as a national body to coordinate and unify the work became greater and we no longer remained national body but international, because we have evolved our outreach to cover four countries. Now Moravian church is in Tanzania as the baseline and mission areas in Kenya, Zambia and Malawi. We involved in the following;

  1. » Establishes cooperation between four provinces and six mission areas, as a church would run and oversee joint
       ventures and programs and represent the provinces inside and outside the country.
  2. » Coordinates and oversees the development and growth of the theological college, which has become, since
       2004, Teofilo Kisanji University (TEKU).
  3. » Publishing hymn books, liturgy and text books and other church literature produced by the Moravian Theological
  4. » Represents the provinces before the government, other churches, agencies and ecumenical organizations.
  5. » Preaching the holy gospel of salvation within and outside the church.
  6. » Undertakes several HIV/AIDS programs, which aim at breaking the silence, education, care for victims,
       administering ARVs, tuberculosis and malaria, and community development are among the ongoing activities of
       the church.
  7. » Training pastors and evangelists for evangelism.
  8. » Engaging in outreach work beyond the borders of the country, in the DRC, Malawi and Zambia.